Banana Coconut Quinoa for breakfast {RECIPE}

Quinoa_breakfastThe weather finally changed last week here in South Florida, which basically means that wearing boots is somewhat acceptable (not that I refrained before).

My parents got me a rockin’ crock pot for Christmas but mine was a bad egg so last week I finally got around to getting it exchanged at Williams Sonoma. Which, in my defense, was timed well with the cold front. So, with the air starting to cool, I went into hibernation mode and started crocking.

I’ve had so much fun playing with this recipe from Tasty Kitchen for Banana Bread Quinoa. My amended version and suggestions, below:

Banana Coconut Quinoa for brekky:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup hemp milk (I’ve used both vanilla and regular)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 5.4 ounce coconut cream unsweetened
  • 3 tablespoons sugar (I use a raw Florida cane sugar, but I’d bet brown sugar would be best)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ cup raisins or nuts (these are optional and can be added before or after, depending on preference)
  • 1 cup mashed banana (over-ripened bananas usually work best)

MereMakesaMess_quinoa_breakfast_1I basically dump all of the ingredients sans banana into my crock pot and use a whisk to mix everything together, then I fold in the bananas, put a lid on it and set it for six hours on low. When finished, I stir it well with a wooden spoon and serve. This can also be made in a rice cooker (just cut the recipe in half depending on the size of your cooker), which is a faster route to this healthy, filling breakfast.

You can substitute the hemp milk for cream or use soy milk instead of hemp or exclude the coconut altogether – the only key to be mindful of is that you have at least double the amount of liquid than the amount of quinoa.

I like to cook it overnight and wake up to a cinnamon-vanilla scented kitchen. I’ve served it with Greek yogurt and honey, or yogurt and pumpkin-apple-butter from a local farmers’ market (which is how it’s photographed here), or with raisins, walnuts and fresh bananas on top; the possibilities really are endless. And, you can easily adjust the calories by using more water less milks/creams or using less sugar and serving with honey, or be decadent and cook it with cream and butter.

I’ve tried all of the above combinations and it’s never a disappointment. One night, I even heated up a bowl and ate it with a scoop of coconut gelato for dessert. Let me know what fun combinations you come up with.

Oh, and cheers to today’s new moon! Here’s a fun list of “super and sexy things” to do for the new supermoon. I’m planning to do #16.

coconut banana quinoa breakfast

{currently listening to “Ticky Ticky” by Owlle}

This entry was published on January 30, 2014 at 10:10 am. It’s filed under making a mess in the kitchen. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Banana Coconut Quinoa for breakfast {RECIPE}

  1. NomadNurpu on said:

    Wow, this looks great! Thanks for sharing.

Please share your own thoughts, comments or messes...

