pickled carrots and radishes

Homemade Pickles {RECIPE}

pickling

I love a good pickle. Always have. But I’ve never made one. I was under the impression that they’d require a season of sitting (which I’m far too impatient for). So when the blue, green and red hues beckoned me into The Best Summer Pickle recipe (in Sweet Paul’s Summer 2012 edition), I was pleased to read only one day of sitting was required.

This week’s CSA purchase included one large white radish and several stumpy carrots – perfect for my foray into pickling.

Recipe: {Picked Radishes and Carrots}

  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • healthy pinches of salt and black pepper
  • 1 bunch radishes and/or carrots, sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 1/2 jalepeno, sliced

Directions: Bring the vinegars, sugar, salt and pepper to a boil in a saucepan whisking until the sugar is fully dissolved. Turn off the heat and bring it to room temperature. When cooled, pour the liquid over the sliced vegetables and fill in glass jars. This should make about 2 jars, more or less. Refrigerate overnight (or 24 hours).

I’ve been eating them as a snack all afternoon, my fingers sticking together from the spicy syrup they’re coated in. But I’d also add them to a salad with a creamy dressing to counterbalance their acidity. If you want to tone down the pickling flavor, boil the vinegars with 1/2 a cup of water.

pickled carrots and radishesThis first batch of pickles was equal parts spicy and sweet, which will add a colorful crunch to the pulled pork tacos I’m currently stewing in the crock pot. That is, if I have any left. 

This entry was published on March 17, 2013 at 10:18 pm. It’s filed under making a mess in the kitchen. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Pickles {RECIPE}

  1. save some for me!

  2. brilliant

  3. Never trust someone who doesn’t like pickles. Great blog.

  4. Thanks for sharing. i’m going to try this over the weekend. I love the photo. keep it up 🙂

Please share your own thoughts, comments or messes...

