Garnishing with one chopped tomato and fresh cilantro, the Mexican-inspired salad was quick, easy and packed a lot of flavors.

Mexican-inspired Salad {RECIPE}

I had no clue what to name this post. My boyfriend suggested “deconstructed vegetable burrito.”

mexican saladAnd while I admire his effort, I think it’s more aptly labeled: “lazy Sunday night salad.” Regardless the name, the meal provided a flavorful and healthy start to the new week.

Typically I prefer to cook with dried beans and fresh vegetables, but we were sluggish after a fun wedding the night before. So, for brevity, I opted to use canned beans and corn.

Toasting up the beans and corn.

Toasting up the beans and corn.

In a cast-iron skillet, I sautéed a few onion slices in a tablespoon of olive oil with a teaspoon of cumin and a dash of cayenne pepper. Sometimes I like to toast the spices in the skillet first, no oil. But either way, I like to add these spices early on so that their flavors are released by the heat, infusing successive ingredients. Once the onions were translucent, I added a drained and rinsed can of black beans. Because they’re canned, they don’t need to cook; I just prefer to heat them, flavoring them myself with the onion and spices. Then I added the can of corn, about five tablespoons of salsa, and fresh salt and pepper.

A few flavors I added to give to uplift a can of beans and corn.

We had some fresh lettuce from our CSA purchase so I made a spicy, creamy lime dressing. Starting with a sour cream base, I whisked in the following ingredients:

Dressing: sour cream (not pictured), Espana salt mix by X Salts (sea salt, smoked Spanish paprika, mustard seed, and dried arbol and chipotle chilies), pepper vinegar and hot sauce (we used Cholula).

Dressing: sour cream (not pictured), Espana salt mix by X Salts (sea salt, smoked Spanish paprika, mustard seed, and dried arbol and chipotle chilies), pepper vinegar and hot sauce (we used Cholula).

Whisk and taste to desired consistency. I like it thin enough to drizzle over a salad, but thick enough to coat the whisk when I pull it out. Mine usually looks something like this:

Quick, creamy salad dressing; tangy from the lime and pepper vinegar, spicy from the hot sauce, yet cooled by the sour cream.

Quick, creamy salad dressing; tangy from the lime and pepper vinegar, spicy from the hot sauce, yet cooled by the sour cream.

Garnishing with one chopped tomato and fresh cilantro, the Mexican-inspired salad was quick, easy and packed some heat balanced by the sour cream and lime.

This entry was published on March 5, 2013 at 2:34 am. It’s filed under making a mess in the kitchen. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Mexican-inspired Salad {RECIPE}

  1. Hi Meredith! This salad looks delicious and I love how you incorporated Cholula hot sauce, (one of my favorites) into the dressing!

  2. I love salads like this one.

Please share your own thoughts, comments or messes...

